The area’s first settlers were mainly Scot-Irish with a few German and Swiss, who settled into the area in the 1730s. During the colonial era, the Greencastle-Antrim area was a part of the still-young frontier. Settlers, most of whom were looking for religious freedom, were attracted to this area because of its fertile soil.
Antrim Township was created in 1741. At that time, the township included most of what is present day Franklin County.
Following the Revolutionary War, John Allison, a colonel in the Cumberland County militia and veteran of the war, founded Greencastle in 1782.
The Allison-Antrim Museum captures the history and spirit of the Greencastle-Antrim area with its impressive collection of both rotating and permanent exhibits. The museum was established in 1995 and opened its doors on South Ridge Avenue in 1998. Rotating exhibits at the museum are usually composed of pieces on loan by private collectors. Permanent collections include pieces unique to Greencastle-Antrim’s history. The museum also houses an array of artifacts from the Civil War era. In addition to uniforms, medicinal kits, period newspapers and soldiers’ letters, the museum tells the story of Dolly Harris, a Civil War heroine who lived in Greencastle. The chamber has walking tour map guides of the historic downtown.
The Conococheague Settlement is located at Rock Hill Farm on Bain Road near Welsh Run, west of Greencastle. The non-profit institute was established in 1994 and maintains a well preserved colonial farmstead, genealogy, research library and visitors welcome center. Its focus is the area’s colonial and pioneer history. It emphasizes the cultural clash between pioneers, the local Native Americans as well as the local impact of the French and Indian and Revolutionary Wars. Visitors can also enjoy the more than 20 walking trails at the institute.
The Renfrew Museum and Park offers an year-long calendar of events including Civil War reenactments, special holiday exhibits, and a summer concert series. The museum is open mid-April to mid-October, while the Park is open dawn to dusk year-round. Renfrew encompasses 107-acres of farmstead that includes history structures, the museum, visitors’ center, picnic area and hiking trails.
The Rescue Hose Company houses an excellent museum about the history of our local fire department and memorabilia since its inception.